Fire From The Evening Sun

Extreme musical playground with no borders.

Without a doubt, every fan of hard rock and extreme metal knows the name Dave Lombardo. For nearly two decades the drummer provided the impulsive, whipping rhythm for thrash metal pioneers Slayer, which is why fans and critics crowned him as the “Godfather of Doublebass“. He also proved his talents outside of the strict thrash corset and cooperated with musicians like Mike Patton (Faith No More), Grip Inc., John Zorn (Blade Runner), The Melvins and many more.

The newest outlet for his extraordinary creativity acts under the banner of PHILM: With his bandmates Gerry Nestler (Civil Defiance; vocals, guitar) und Francisco “Pancho“ Tomaselli (Funk Rockers, Tower Of Power; bass) he has found two companions who also deny any genre restrictions.

On their new album “Fire From The Evening Sun“ the trio acts accordingly: free and unlimited. As Lombardo states: “We tend to live on the heavy side, but we also touch on haunting, desolate, ambient sounds.“

The estimation of frontman Gerry Nestler also emphasizes the great variety of the band: “Heavy but sensitive, powerful and atmospheric. The music of PHILM is channeled through the many different influences of drum and bass, expressionism, and underground that is indigenous to the street. “

The result of this cooperation is a truly exceptional album that has its roots in the heavy music but stretches its branches into all possible genres. With his demanding and innovative drumming, Lombardo provides for the rhythmic base on which songs like the impulsive opener “Train“, “Blue Dragon“ with its detailed guitar and bass play or the drum 'n' bass influenced “Turn In The Sky“ can unfold. Nestler adjusts his vocals to this varied music and masters imploring whispering or coaxing clean vocals as superior and emotional as aggressive shouting or nearly manic screaming.

PHILM pay special attention to the haunting atmosphere of their songs that evokes goose bumps over and over again. Be it the malign undertone in “Lady Of The Lake“, the dark beginning und the nearly psychedelic guitar solo of “Silver Queen“ or “Corner Girl“, which closes the album in a laid-back but also sinister mood.

Take off your blinkers and open your ears – in the middle of September open-minded fans of heavy music will welcome a new long term guest named “Fire From The Evening Sun” in their playlist!


  • Gerry Paul Nestler – vocals & guitar
  • David “Dave“ Lombardo – drums
  • Francisco “Pancho“ Eduardo Tomaselli – bass


01. Train
02. Fire From The Evening Sun
03. Lady Of The Lake
04. Lion's Pit
05. Silver Queen
06. We Sail At Dawn
07. Omniscience
08. Fanboy
09. Luxhaven
10. Blue Dragon
11. Turn In The Sky
12. Corner Girl


  • • CD Digipack
  • • Double Vinyl Gatefold
  • • Digital Download


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok