Diamond Head

Diamond Head - The Coffin Train

‘PIONEER’, an adjective to be used carefully. Many wish they were, most are not.

Diamond Head – the Stourbridge, England born New Wave of British Heavy Metal pioneers – return to the world stage with a new album. The Coffin Train is at once fresh and exuberant while also being a stone-cold classic slice of old school heavy metal excellence. Is it packed with the sort of riff-fueled power that founding member (and riff LORD) Brian Tatler led a genre and influenced the odd band or two with? It’s electric for sure… and then some.

Formed in 1976 under the riff-rolling leadership of guitarist Brian Tatler, DIAMOND HEAD would quickly establish themselves as a vanguard of the exploding New Wave Of British Heavy Metal scene. With their genre-defining debut album Lightning To The Nations, DIAMOND HEAD became the band who influenced and opened gates for many metal bands.

The Coffin Train, DIAMOND HEAD's eighth studio album, is a glorious testimony to Brian Tatler and Rasmus Bom Andersens' masterful ability to create the flavours necessary for prime DIAMOND HEAD music. The record was recorded in several different places. Guitars, bass, and vocals at Vigo Studios in Walsall and drums at Circle Studios in Birmingham. The album was produced and mixed at Ras' Raw Sound Studio in London.

When it comes to the concepts behind The Coffin Train, Tatler left the heart to Ras, who being a thinker and life-conceptualizer, doesn't lack sources of inspiration. DIAMOND HEAD have not only managed to create an album of pure heavy metal intensity, they have created a timeless aural statement which feels destined to see them delivering both The Coffin Train and DH 2.0 to more fans than ever.

Tatler explains:

“All along we wanted to make sure we didn’t lose sight of what we call ‘The Brief’. I would never want to deny our NWOBHM style and sound, that’s what originally got me excited and Diamond Head noticed. And I still enjoy the creative journey we go on.”

The Coffin Train, Diamond Head’s eighth studio album, is a glorious testimony to Brian Tatler and Rasmus Bom Andersens’ masterful ability to create the flavours necessary for prime Diamond Head music.

Tatler affirms:

“Rasmus is a big part of why the album, and band, sound like we do. He has a fantastic vocal range, knows exactly what to do with his voice and is incredibly knowledgeable about it!”

Is it really that electric you might ask? Oh yes it certainly is!

Diamond Head's latest album, The Coffin Train is available on CD, Vinyl and digital formats HERE


1. Belly of the Beast
2. The Messenger
3. The Coffin Train
4. Shades of Black
5. The Sleeper (Prelude)
6. The Sleeper
7. Death by Design
8. Serrated Love
9. *The Phoenix
10. Until We Burn

[*CD/digital only. Vinyl includes Download Card including redemption code for “The Phoenix”]

Diamond Head are:

  • Brian Tatler – lead & rhythm guitars
  • Rasmus Bom Andersen – vocals
  • Karl Wilcox – drums
  • Andy “Abbz" Abberley – rhythm & lead guitars
  • Paul Gaskin – bass guitar, backing vocals

Follow Diamond Head on:






Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok