Annihilator youtube background new



ALCATRAZZ, the mighty Los Angeles-born guitar-driven heavy metal icons, release their epic new single ‘Grace Of God’ taken from the anticipated new full-length V, set for release October 15th 2021 via Silver Lining Music.

The band celebrates the release of ‘Grace Of God’ with a new video contrasting scenes of beautiful, breathtaking landscape with sombre and evocative displays of raw emotion and battle. The track takes the listener on a monumental journey with White’s powerful soaring vocals, perfectly complimented by Stump and Waldo’s intricate weaving guitars-and-keys-wizardry bolstered by the thunderous and robust bass and drums from Shea and Benquechea.

“I love Grace of God” comments White “it is a cracking tune with lots of intricate vocal parts; I love what everybody in the band has done on it, it has great energy and drive… It’s just magic!”
“Lyrically, it is set in the Middle Ages,” White continues “it is about the fear of being sent off to war to fight for your King, your Queen or your country… to invade a land you’ve never heard of, to conquer people you know nothing about, to fight for a reason you’re not sure of and the desperation in accepting such fate.”
“When I first heard Grace of God, I just couldn’t believe how perfectly well melody and lyrics fitted together: it’s hard to imagine anything else being better than that” enthuses Waldo. “Doogie has the ability to write exactly what the melody of a track calls for and the result is very powerful."

Watch/Listen to the recently released ‘Turn Of The Wheel’, ‘Sword Of Deliverance’ and ‘Guardian Angel’ here

Formed in 1983, Alcatrazz became famous for its blend of melodic and progressive rock and for introducing guitar heroes Yngwie Malmsteen and Steve Vai. Emerging in 1983 with No Parole from Rock 'n’ Roll, which featured the hit ‘Island in the Sun’, the band continued building popularity in 1985 with their sophomore effort, Disturbing the Peace, which contained the hit, ‘God Blessed Video’. The band issued one more studio LP, 1986’s Dangerous Games, before ceasing operations the following year. The band regrouped and released highly acclaimed Born Innocent in 2020, their first studio album containing all-new material since 1986.

Both vintage and timeless, V treads the Alcatrazz textured-territories of old but with renewed vigor and verve. Whether it be the choral-echoes sitting inside the storming tempest which is ‘Nightwatch,’ the staunch, speedy melodic metal of ‘Turn Of The Wheel’ or the thick, bluesy chug of ‘House Of Lies,’ there is little doubt that this Alcatrazz is going full-tilt with not one ounce of a shackle holding them back.

“The new album brings us full circle from our original roots to a modern much heavier version of all things Alcatrazz in 2021,” confirms Shea. “I feel great and I’m looking forward to the release of our new album with its heavy rocking metal sounds.”

Produced by Giles Lavery and Jimmy Waldo, and mixed by Andy Haller (Elton John, Joe Cocker and System of a Down), V also includes guest appearances from Saxon’s Nigel Glockler (drums on ‘Guardian Angel’ and ‘Blackheart’), Tank’s Cliff Evans (bass on ‘Grace of God’) and Donnie Van Stavern of Riot (bass on ‘Guardian Angel’, ‘Nightwatch’ and ‘Target’), underscoring how perennially popular Alcatrazz’s music remains with their peers.

And just in case you’re wondering what V stands for? Alcatrazz’s fifth studio album of course… but it also stands just as resolutely for Victory; the victory that sees Alcatrazz 2021 stronger than ever despite all the odds. V is available to pre-order at this location

Alcatrazz are eager to get back on the road and bring V to the fans, kicking of their UK tour co-headlining with Girlschool in Milton Keynes on November 17th. For tickets and more information please visit:

Tour Dates:

17 Nov - Crauford Arms, Milton Keynes (UK)
18 Nov - Eleven, Stoke-on-Trent (UK)
19 Nov - Waterloo, Blackpool (UK)
20 Nov - Hangar 18, Swansea (UK)
21 Nov - Yardbirds, Grimsby (UK)
24 Nov - Real Time Live, Chesterfield (UK)
25 Nov - Bannerman’s, Edinburgh (UK)
26 Nov - Nightrain, Bradford (UK)
27 Nov - Winterstorm, Troon (UK)
28 Nov - Trillians, Newcastle (UK)
1 Dec - Underworld, London (UK)
2 Dec KK’s Steelmill, Wolverhamton (UK)

V Track Listing:

1. Guardian Angel
2. Nightwatch
3. Sword Of Deliverance
4. Turn Of The Wheel
5. Blackheart
6. Grace Of God
7. Return To Nevermore
8. Target
9. Maybe Tomorrow
10. House Of Lies
11. Alice’s Eyes
12. Dark Day For My Soul


  • Jimmy Waldo - Keyboards
  • Joe Stump - Guitars
  • Gary Shea - Bass
  • Doogie White - Lead Vocals
  • Mark Benquechea – Drums

Follow Alcatrazz on:





Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok