Silver Lining Logo

News & Stories


Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] release from NWOBHM pioneers out now via Silver Lining Music. Buy/listen to the release at this location.

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], the latest release from British heavy metal icons Diamond Head is out now and available via Silver Lining Music.

Diamond Head’s debut album Lightning To The Nations was a key influence on the heavy metal genre, and Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] is the ultimate version of this ultimate album. The release features not only the original album from ¼ inch master tapes which Lars Ulrich helped Brian Tatler retrieve back in 1990, but also alternative mixes of classic cuts “Lightning To The Nations”, “The Prince”, “Sucking My Love”, “Am I Evil?” and “Sweet And Innocent” never publicly released (or heard) before. The original tapes were first quite literally baked (a process which allows degraded tape to be returned to playable quality), then restored and digitized before Diamond Head frontman Rasmus ‘Ras’ Bom Andersen remastered the tracks. The restored masters are supplemented by a set of bonus tracks originally recorded in 1980s and rounding-out this ultimate edition are a set of deep and detailed notes on both the era and each song by Brian Tatler.

Watch/Listen to the recently released ‘Lightning To The Nations (Original Lost Mix)’ and ‘Sweet And Innocent (Original Lost Mix)’ here.

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], is available as a double CD, a deluxe 180 gms gatefold triple-vinyl edition containing the original album remastered, the lost mixes and the bonus tracks. The release is additionally available as a single vinyl edition of just the remastered album, also on 180 gms. Also, the complete recordings are available to stream and download. Buy and stream the release at this location.

“If classic metal albums are measured by their influence, I doubt there are few, from the 80s onward, that could compare to Lightning to the Nations.” – Metal Archives
“Lightning To The Nations underpins the very foundations of the NWOBHM as one of the greatest debut of the era.” – Metal Hammer
“If you’re gonna say, ‘name one record that’s the blueprint for Metallica’s sound,’ this is it. I’ve said that a thousand times; I’ve said it 10,000 times.” – Lars Ulrich [Metallica]
“Lightning To The Nations represents the music and DIY ethic of the NWOBHM at their best.” – Record Collector
“Lightning To The Nations was a tour de force of inventive, aggressive, but supremely-well arranged heavy metal, that bridged the transition between the ‘70s and ‘80s.” – Ultimate Classic Rock
“In Lightning To The Nations there are more good riffs in your average single song than there are in the first four Black Sabbath albums.” – Sounds
“Lightning to the Nations was certainly one of the most influential and important albums in the evolution of heavy metal, that much cannot be denied. If your record collection is missing this album, you are lacking an important historical piece of the evolution of heavy metal.” –
“Lightning to the Nations has gone down forever in heavy metal lore, as one of the style’s ultimate underdogs done good. And that, of course, is the very definition of what a heavy metal band should be.” – Ultimate Classic Rock

Diamond Head will soon embark on a string of shows, joining Saxon as special guests for the European and UK dates on their Seize The Day world tour.


2 October – FRANCE – Paris, Trianon
3 October – NETHERLANDS – Tilburg, 013
4 October – GERMANY – Hannover, Capitol
6 October – GERMANY – Berlin, Admiralspalast
7 October – GERMANY – Munich, Muffathalle
8 October – GERMANY – Offenbach, Capitol
10 October – ITALY – Milan, Alcatraz
11 October – SWITZERLAND – Pratteln Z7
12 October – BELGIUM – Antwerp, Trix
13 October – NETHERLANDS – Haarlem, Patronaat
15 October – DENMARK – Aarhus, Train
17 October – SWEDEN – Gothenburg, Pustervik
18 October – NORWAY – Oslo, Rockefeller
19 October – DENMARK – Copenhagen, Amager Bio
21 October – NETHERLANDS – Zwolle, Hedon
22 October – FRANCE – Metz, La Bam
23 October – SWITZERLAND – Lausanne, Les Docks


11 November – Ipswich, Regent Theatre
12 November – Southampton O2 Guildhall
13 November – Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion
14 November – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall
15 November – Bath, Forum
16 November – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
18 November – Newcastle, O2 City Hall
19 November – Blackburn, King George's Hall
20 November – Aberdeen, Music Hall
21 November – Glasgow, Barrowland
22 November – Hull, City Hall
23 November – York, Barbican
25 November – Leicester, De Montfort Hall
26 November – London, Roundhouse

For EU tickets visit:

For UK tickets visit:

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] tracklisting:

1. Lightning to the Nations
2. The Prince
3. Sucking My Love
4. Am I Evil?
5. Sweet and Innocent
6. It’s Electric
7. Helpless
8. Lightning to the Nations (Lost Original Mix)
9. The Prince (Lost Original Mix)
10. Sucking My Love (Lost Original Mix)
11. Am I Evil? (Lost Original Mix)
12. Sweet and Innocent (Lost Original Mix)
13. *Shoot Out the Lights
14. *Streets of Gold
15. *Play It Loud
16. *Waited Too long
17. *Diamond Lights
18. *We Won’t Be Back
19. *I Don’t Got

[*Bonus Tracks]

Diamond Head are:

  • BRIAN TATLER: Lead, Rhythm Guitars
  • KARL WILCOX: Drums
  • ANDREW “ABBZ” ABBERLEY: Rhythm, Lead Guitars

Diamond Head 1980 line-up:

  • SEAN HARRIS: Vocals
  • BRIAN TATLER: Guitar

Follow Diamond Head on:





Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok