“Drowning in the shadow, of the wonders we have built. We are, the ashes and the seeds” .

Taken from the band’s forthcoming studio album Lotus, “Martyrs” is the perfect way to showcase the whole record in one song. “Martyrs” is driven by the contrast of different moods, fuelled by Joel’s powerful vocals, sustained by heavy, progressive and frantic riffs and, ultimately, bonded by the sturdy and cohesive rhythmic section.

The video fiercely shows an uncensored portrait of contemporary society, underlining the concept behind both the lyrics and the whole album. Frontman Joel says:

“"The video and the song reflect the importance to stand up for yourself and not be trapped in other peoples’ expectations of you. People are going to try to push you down and they want you to conform to the prevailing ideals, but as long as you follow your own path you are never wrong."

In a world filled with brutality, stigma and indifference, there is still hope, because, as Joel sings, “we are the ashes and the seeds”.

Lotus is the forthcoming new studio album from Swedish-based progressive metal collective, SOEN. Set for release via Silver Lining Music on February 1st, 2019, the nine songs comprising Lotus are intoxicating, addictive aural therapies, questioning much of today’s darkness while juxtaposing them with moments of great escape and hope.

Produced by David Castillo and Iñaki Marconi at Ghostward Studios and Studio 6, the album features the first recorded SOEN material with newest recruit, Canadian-born guitarist Cody Ford, whilst the centre-point of the album remains those trademark, snap-heavy, progressive SOEN riffs. Songs such as “Rival,” “Covenant,” and “Martyrs” are dissertations on modern societies, fraught with poetic, finitely designed confusion and chaos, yet as the name Lotus suggests, there is still strength, beauty, and purity to be extracted from what at times seems like an endless cycle of human regression.

SOEN’s Lotus will be released on CD, LP, and digital formats. Pre-order here!

Lotus Track Listing:


SOEN will bring Lotus to European stages this spring in a near-three-week tour from March 12 through April 6th. For tickets click here!

2019 European Tour Part One:

12 March - NORWAY - John Dee, Oslo
13 March - DENMARK - Stengade, Copenhagen
14 March - GERMANY - Logo, Hamburg
15 March - GERMANY - Roadrunner, Berlin
16 March - GERMANY - Colos Saal, Aschaffenburg
17 March - GERMANY - Club Cann, Stuttgart
19 March - GERMANY - Backstage Werk, Munich
20 March - GERMANY – Kultopia, Hagen
21 March - GERMANY - Helios, Cologne
22 March - NETHERLANDS - De Effenaar Prognois Festival, Eindhoven
23 March - NETHERLANDS - Sugarfactory, Amsterdam
25 March - UK - O2 Academy Islington, London
27 March - FRANCE - L’amperage, Grenoble
28 March - SPAIN - Salamandra, Barcelona
29 March - SPAIN - Caracol, Madrid
30 March - PORTUGAL - Hard Club, Porto
31 March - PORTUGAL - RCA, Lisbon
2 April - FRANCE - Backstage, Paris
3 April - SWITZERLAND - Z7, Pratteln
4 April - ITALY - Legend Club, Milano
5 April - ITALY - Orion Ciampino, Roma
6 April - ITALY - Sonic Room, Fabriano

Special Guests:

Ghost Iris (DK) Official Facebook Page


WHEEL (FIN) Official Facebook Page

SOEN are:

  • Joel Ekelöf - Vocals
  • Martin Lopez - Drums
  • Lars Åhlund - Keys & Guitar
  • Stefan Stenberg - Bass
  • Cody Ford - Lead Guitar







Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok