Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] Nears Release. Pre-orders available at this location.

British heavy metal icons Diamond Head unveil the video for the single ‘Sweet And Innocent (Lost Original Mix)’, taken from the upcoming release, Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], set for release via Silver Lining Music on September 30th, 2022.

The video is a historical and fascinating watch, incorporating photos, videos, and magnificent material-gems from the vaults of co-founding member Brian Tatler himself. “I think it’s great for the fans to see the old photos and videos from the early Eighties.” comments Tatler. “According to my notes, Sweet and Innocent was written on the 18th of June 1978 and was first released on the Lightning To The Nations album in June 1980. It never had a video back in the day, so it’s great to have this now.”
Few could have predicted the importance that Diamond Head’s debut album, Lightning To The Nations would have on the heavy metal genre. “We had an undeniably unique sound,” reflects Tatler “four young lads each with an element that, when combined, produced an alloy that was our own heavy metal sound.”

‘Sweet and Innocent (Lost Original Mix)’ is the second single taken from Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], the ultimate version of this ultimate album. The release features not only the original album from ¼ inch master tapes which Lars Ulrich helped Brian Tatler retrieve back in 1990, but also alternative mixes of classic cuts “Lightning To The Nations”, “The Prince”, “Sucking My Love”, “Am I Evil?” and “Sweet And Innocent” never publicly released (or heard) before. There is also brand-new cover artwork based on an idea Brian Tatler had, to show a character referred to as ‘The Lightning God’.

The original tapes were first quite literally baked (a process which allows degraded tape to be returned to playable quality), then restored and digitized before Diamond Head frontman Rasmus ‘Ras’ Bom Andersen remastered the tracks, ending up with a pristine edition of the original recordings and the recently discovered alternative mixes. Pure treasure for all fans of both Diamond Head and the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, the restored masters are supplemented by a set of bonus tracks originally recorded in 1980s. Rounding-out this ultimate edition are a set of deep and detailed notes on both the era and each song by Brian Tatler.

“‘Sweet and Innocent’ has a shuffle groove and was our attempt at a hit single.”’ says Tatler in his notes. “It was under four-minutes long and had a big chorus. We re-recorded it about six-months later for a 7” single for Pete Winkelman’s newly formed label Media Records but it was nothing like a hit!”
Watch/Listen to the recently released ‘Lightning To The Nations (Original Lost Mix)’ and ‘Sweet And Innocent (Original Lost Mix)’ here.

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021], will be released as a double CD, a deluxe 180 gms gatefold triple-vinyl edition containing the original album remastered, the lost mixes and the bonus tracks. There will also be a single vinyl edition of just the remastered album, also on 180 gms. The complete recordings will also be available to stream and download. Pre-orders are available now at this location.

Diamond Head will soon embark on a string of shows, joining Saxon as special guests for the European and UK dates on their Seize The Day world tour.


2 October – FRANCE – Paris, Trianon
3 October – NETHERLANDS – Tilburg, 013
4 October – GERMANY – Hannover, Capitol
6 October – GERMANY – Berlin, Admiralspalast
7 October – GERMANY – Munich, Muffathalle
8 October – GERMANY – Offenbach, Capitol
10 October – ITALY – Milan, Alcatraz
11 October – SWITZERLAND – Pratteln Z7
12 October – BELGIUM – Antwerp, Trix
13 October – NETHERLANDS – Haarlem, Patronaat
15 October – DENMARK – Aarhus, Train
17 October – SWEDEN – Gothenburg, Pustervik
18 October – NORWAY – Oslo, Rockefeller
19 October – DENMARK – Copenhagen, Amager Bio
21 October – NETHERLANDS – Zwolle, Hedon
22 October – FRANCE – Metz, La Bam
23 October – SWITZERLAND – Lausanne, Les Docks


11 November – Ipswich, Regent Theatre
12 November – Southampton O2 Guildhall
13 November – Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion
14 November – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall
15 November – Bath, Forum
16 November – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
18 November – Newcastle, O2 City Hall
19 November – Blackburn, King George's Hall
20 November – Aberdeen, Music Hall
21 November – Glasgow, Barrowland
22 November – Hull, City Hall
23 November – York, Barbican
25 November – Leicester, De Montfort Hall
26 November – London, Roundhouse

For EU tickets visit: https://www.saxon747.com/tour

For UK tickets visit: https://www.myticket.co.uk/artists/saxon

Lightning To The Nations (The White Album) [Remastered 2021] tracklisting:

1. Lightning to the Nations
2. The Prince
3. Sucking My Love
4. Am I Evil?
5. Sweet and Innocent
6. It’s Electric
7. Helpless
8. Lightning to the Nations (Lost Original Mix)
9. The Prince (Lost Original Mix)
10. Sucking My Love (Lost Original Mix)
11. Am I Evil? (Lost Original Mix)
12. Sweet and Innocent (Lost Original Mix)
13. *Shoot Out the Lights
14. *Streets of Gold
15. *Play It Loud
16. *Waited Too long
17. *Diamond Lights
18. *We Won’t Be Back
19. *I Don’t Got

[*Bonus Tracks]

Diamond Head are:

  • BRIAN TATLER: Lead, Rhythm Guitars
  • KARL WILCOX: Drums
  • ANDREW “ABBZ” ABBERLEY: Rhythm, Lead Guitars

Diamond Head 1980 line-up:

  • SEAN HARRIS: Vocals
  • BRIAN TATLER: Guitar

Follow Diamond Head on:





Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok