Annihilator youtube background new


IMPERIAL will be released on January 29th 2021, via Silver Lining Music. Available as a CD Digipak, Vinyl Album, digital formats and special D2C bundles. For pre-orders, go to this location

The provocative, imperious and engaging Swedish-based metal group SOEN unveil the captivating yet unnerving video for ‘Monarch’ today, taken from their fifth album, IMPERIAL, set for release via Silver Lining Music on January 29th 2021.

Founder members Joel Ekelöf (vocals) and Martin Lopez (drums), along with Lars Enok Åhlund (keyboards and guitar), Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel (bass) and Cody Ford (lead guitar) are an undeniable cypher for all the issues and emotions which swirl around us. With its epic, dynamic tale alluding to men raised in aggression and sent to war, ‘Monarch’ commences with a stomping crushing riff that is perfectly juxtaposed with moments of pure majestic melodic bliss.

Explains Lopez:

“‘Monarch’ is an epic, dynamic song about the traditional attributes of mankind. The belief that showing compassion and kindness is a sign of weakness.”

Furthers Ekelöf:

“because they are living in an age where bullies are kings and the rest are prey”

On the making of the video, Lopez comments:

“Making videos is a difficult task because it means that you need to hand over the control of your music to someone on the outside. You want to make a video that not only represents the lyrical content but that also captures the atmosphere and emotion of the song and for that you need to find a producer that has the capability of understanding and transforming all these words and notes into images and I think we found the right person in Daniele Berretta… It was a pleasure to work with him and we’re very happy with how the video turned out.”

Watch/Listen to the recently released ‘Antagonist' here.

Produced by Iñaki Marconi and the band, IMPERIAL was mixed and mastered by Kane Churko, who has worked with the likes of Ozzy Osbourne and Bob Dylan, IMPERIAL is an album which will engage the listener immediately and sustain long after this crazy time has passed, its rich details destined to make it a classic metal album of this era.

SOEN are an undeniable cypher for all which swirls around us, something which will continue to set them apart from their peers for years to come, and IMPERIAL is the latest potent, unmissable commentary from their journey. Excited to bring the new material on the road, SOEN also announce the first leg of their IMPERIAL European Tour 2021, which will kick-off in the Spring in Oslo, Norway. More dates to be announced soon; tickets and additional information available at this location

Tour Dates:

6 April - John Dee, Oslo - Norway
7 April - Pustervik, Gothenburg - Sweden
8 April - Posten, Odense - Denmark
9 April - Hellraiser, Leipzig - Germany
10 April - Proxima, Warsaw - Poland
11 April - Fraanz, Berlin - Germany
13 April - Colos Saal, Aschaffenburg - Germany
14 April - Z7, Pratteln - Switzerland
15 April - Backstage Halle, Munich - Germany
16 April - Revolver Club, San Donà di Piave - Italy
17 April - Largo Venue, Rome - Italy
20 April - Magazzini Generali, Milan - Italy
21 April - Luxor, Cologne - Germany
22 April - o2 Academy Islington, London - United Kingdom
23 April - Melkweg, Amsterdam - The Netherlands
25 April - Logo, Hamburg - Germany
28 April - Klubben, Stockholm - Sweden
30 April - Olympia, Tampere - Finland
1 May - Tavastia, Helsinki - Finland

IMPERIAL Track Listing:

1. Lumerian
2. Deceiver
3. Monarch
4. Illusion
5. Antagonist
6. Modesty
7. Dissident
8. Fortune


  • Joel Ekelöf - Vocals
  • Lars Enok Åhlund - Keyboards and Guitar
  • Oleksii “Zlatoyar” Kobel - Bass
  • Cody Ford - Lead Guitar


  • All songs written by SOEN
  • Produced and recorded by Iñaki Marconi
  • Vocal editing by Ricardo Borges
  • Vocals on track 1 to 5 and drums recorded and produced by David Castillo
  • Mixed and mastered by Kane Churko
  • Cover design by Enrique Zabala
  • Art Design by Wriliya
  • Cover photo by Mark Laita






Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok